5th Annual Glenn Taylor Memorial Race - NOTICE OF RACE

Sunday, April 30th, 2023


Windsurfing Fleet 18 is organizing this race in memory of Glenn Taylor who passed away in the fall of 2017.
Glenn founded Fleet 18 and pioneered one-design windsurfing in the San Francisco Bay Area.

1st Annual: Sunday, April 22, 2018 (Winner: Teddy Huang) - click here for the report
2nd Annual: Sunday, April 28, 2019 (Winner: Brad Wilson) - click here for the report
3rd Annual: Sunday, October 18, 2020 (Winner: Skip Boman) - click here for the report
4th Annual: Sunday, May 14, 2022 (Winner: Mark Zimmer) - click here for the report

Ryan Lagoon, Foster City (details below). Parking and rigging area is located between Foster City Parks & Recreation (650 Shell Bldv) and the Vibe Teen Center.

Board Classes:

  • 'One-Design': Any type of board with a sail size of no more than 7.5
  • Open: Anything goes
  • Approximate Start Time: 1 PM
    Please arrive no later than 12noon to allow sufficient time for rigging your board and chatting with your windsurfer friends.

    The race comprises two legs. The first leg will be started for both classes simultaneously at a starting line off the seawall by the rigging area and finish at the same seawall (see map below).
    The race committee will record the finish time (the moment the racer steps on the seawall) for each racer.
    The return leg will be started off the seawall no sooner than 1 hour after the last racer finished the first leg with the racers starting in reverse order of their finish times for the first leg, and hence will be a reverse pursuit race.

    A trophy will be awarded to the winner of the first leg and the winner of the second leg (regardless of board class). In addition a perpetual trophy will be awarded to the racer in the 'One-Design' class with the best COMBINED time of both legs of the race. This is a change from the first three annual races. We have made this change in order to better honor Glenn Taylor's emphasis on one--design racing.

    2018 Winner: Teddy Huang
    2019 Winner: Brad Wilson
    2020 Winner: Skip Boman
    2022 Winner: Mark Zimmer

    Course Maps


    Return to Fleet 18 Home Page